What tire do you recommend?

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What tire do you recommend?

So here is my situation.

I am new to riding motorcycles(think new as in know enough to get from point A to point B, but not enough to feel confident on a twisty yet lol)

First bike is a 91 Katana 600.

Currently working on getting it up and running and ready to ride.(thats a whole nother thread I might started up as I am stumped on a flooding issue.)

I'd like to know what Tire/Brand/Size people recommend(and why.)
    Money is an issue, so cheaper the better, but I understand that you pay for what you get as well, so not so cheap as to cause issues, Hoping under 200 for a set but definatly under 250.

My riding style right now is slow and cautious. I know that my Kat has a lot more power and ability then I could handle if I was to twist the throttle all the way down right now. I can respect that, but I also realize that by the end of this summer I'll most likely feel a lot more confident with my ability's and be trying to keep up with others on weekend rides.(yes I know, still always ride within my own limits)

So with that background, I'd like to hear what tires some of you more experienced riders would recommend and possibly a little bit about why you recommend that tire/brand.

(Links to amazing deals online greatly appreciated as well lol)
    I never knew what I was getting myself into....

I used to only run Michelen Pilot Powers (great tires) but if you are on a budget, try the Shinko 006 Podiums... I currently run them and they work well. Still pretty good. I can drag a knee. Last over 8k miles. Been caught in the rain with them a couple of times and they worked well.

If you want great tires, pay the money for Michelen's. But if you are on a budget, try the Shinko's.....

Just my experience, I am sure there will be more opinions..

Comment