X

A very unfourtunate discovery

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A very unfourtunate discovery

Hey all. I finally figured out the best way for my lightweight self to get my Kat up on her Center stand without a hassle. Unfourtunatly, i found something on a tire inspection that didn't make me very happy at all. Now i do try and do a quick inspection before every ride, but it's not like i roll the bike around the garage checking the entire thing. I found my first nail yesterday.

Generally, i take nails in tires as part of owning a car, but i just started riding less than 3 weeks ago! LOL I've put maybe 50 miles or so on this bike, it's my first bike, and the tires had less than 100 miles on them when i got it. Needless to say I'm kinda bummed, but everyone is telling me, don't worry about it. it's in there good. keep the PSI at a good rate and carry a plug kit and miniature pump under the seat in case it does come out. When it does, plug it, air it, and start looking for new tires.

Any of you seasoned riders have any suggestions and or thoughts on this? I'm not an aggressive rider, I am still learning as this is my first bike and season. I was not expecting to drop the cash for new tires this quick. Picture below:

Last edited by Wraith81; 02-10-2019, 04:50 PM.
    ~~~
    Wraith
    1999 Suzuki Katana GSX600F

nail!

Oh man. That's bad news all right, especially since otherwise you seem to have lots of tread left. You'd better start looking for a replacement. It may flatten at any moment. I've had a few nails, but they have never stayed inflated for more than an hour. That nail may have been pushed to the side at the cords and not gotten through. That would be lucky.

Rather than plan to fix it on the road, it might be a good idea to deal with it head on. Pull the tire and patch it for now. Then keep a spare tire and just change it if it won't hold air at some point down the road. You may still get another 5000 miles out of it.

Comment