X

How do you clean a brake rotor

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do you clean a brake rotor

I'm a Kat noob, so please be gentle. What do you guys suggest using to clean brake rotors. Is there a product I can get at the bike shop for this? I just bought a 98 Kat 750 and the rear rotor is a little "dirty", not rust but not clean.

Thanks in advance for the help.
    Sex Panther cologne -- 60% of the time, it works every time

I use laquer thinner on a rag ,normally have a 5gl pail in garage any how, it has no oils but be really careful around paint or plastic or you will regret it
    you coulld go to any automotive supply and get brake clean ,it is in an aerosol but you can spray on a clean rag or paper towel then wipe down

I have used a lot of CRC brand brake clean red can, dont get it in your eyes it will hurt LOL
    I don't recommend non chlorinated or "green friendly " brands they just dont seem to work as well
    Blood , its in you to give! http://www.blood.ca/

Comment

You can also use some Windex to clean your rotors of brake residue and road grime.
      2006 Katana 750 - Daily therapy
      2005 ZZR1200 - Weekend therapy

Comment

Thanks, you guys are fast. I wasn't expecting an answer until tomorrow. I'll go out and buy some brake clean right now.
        Sex Panther cologne -- 60% of the time, it works every time

Comment

Normal use of the brakes will clean the rotor up some...
          a green 3M pad and some windex will remove any buildup on the rotor.
          -Steve

sigpic
          Welcome to KatRiders.com! Click here to register
          Don't forget to check the Wiki! http://katriders.com/wiki

Comment

How about small rusting spot; anyone have speical method to deal with them? I use flitz and "ball up" aluminum foil on the perimeter (careful not to get the chemical onto the rotor itself where the brake pad clams onto).
            sigpic