X

A question of speeding

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A question of speeding

Hey guys. Wondering what your opinions are on this semi political question. First of all I've been riding and driving hard since 17, I have 3 years of experience and I know how to be as fast as you can without being stupid. I know my limits. So please no MSF quotes I scored a perfect 100 in both 2 and 3 wheel classes.

Its kinda long. Here is the thesis of it if you don't want to read it all.

Why should track days be used as rare events to tone our skills? Shouldn't we be able to race most days on a track instead of the road. I feel like being able to go to a track when I wanted would remove my desire to speed in normal roads, and speeding on normal roads is way cheaper, paying off tickets, but less safe. Doesn't this seem ridiculous? Society sucks.

I know safety is the way to go for speed, and track riding, on top of just not riding a pre-kat lol, is the safest way to go. But track riding is expensive. Some states have nice situations where you can get track days for cheap, but everything here in the NW is around 200 a day. As a full time student, and I will be a student for another few years, paying for track days is not a viable option. If you think about it, for 200 dollars all you get is a safer road to ride hard on, but the price of a speeding ticket for the amount of time you spend on riding hard is waaayyyyyy cheaper than anything on the track.
    Why should track days be used as rare events to tone our skills? Shouldn't we be able to race most days. I feel like being able to go to a track when I wanted would remove my desire to speed in normal roads. I mean whats the point of a speed limit in the first place if 80% of the traffic is going over. Why should a bike have the same limit as a semi-truck. Why are there bike only checkpoints if motorcycles themselves cause almost no fatalities.