X

2006 GSX600F Exhaust Ideas

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2006 GSX600F Exhaust Ideas

Hi, everyone I am new to riding street bikes. I have ridden quads and dirt bikes for years. That is the extent of my experience and limited knowledge on how to repair them or mod them.

I was hoping to get some advice or suggestions on my exhaust. I would like to give it a deep throaty, gravely sound or whatever the term needs to be assigned.

Basically, I want it louder but not obnoxious, one other criteria is I would love to avoid burning my calf ever again if possible. I ride to school in shorts yes I understand that's one of many perils of riding in shorts.

I wanted to explain my situation and describe it the best way possible.

I bought a brand new 2006 Suzuki Katana GSX600F yes new it had ZERO miles on the Odometer and has never been titled. From a dealership.

Please clear up the water for me on a few points.

Above all else I prefer to work on the bike myself so it possible no welding mods etc.

1.Silencer means a specific type of muffler exhaust or is it a term for muffler exhaust? Meaning all mufflers are essentially called silencers?
    2.Oval ver Small oval is this simply preference in cost or style or just monetary concern?
    3. 14in, 9in, 13in etc is there a requirement on what must be used or is this preference?
    4.Will a real carbon fiber muffler exhaust perform better does the length matter if so why?
    5.Will the carbon muffler exhaust help to keep me from burning my calf lol?

Based on my questions can someone help me decide on a quality exhaust that looks great and sounds good and will keep the skin on my calf intact for the most part.

I do think I prefer a smaller exhaust for aesthetics and convenience. Any help for a noob would be appreciated.

By the way not really interested in going fast not opposed to it but I am a green rider.
    Last edited by xarcherx; 07-07-2011, 05:45 PM.