Kat vs SV

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Kat vs SV

I'm looking at
    2001 suzuki katana 600 with 6,114 miles for $2000 no visible damage/problems
    or
    a 2003 SUZUKI SV1000s with 43,000 miles for $1900 with cracks and scratches on left upper fairing that looks like a driveway drop

is the FI and power worth the extra 30k miles?
    94 kat 600 RIP
    97 vfr 750 ride on

The fact that an SV is a V twin, and the Katana is an inline 4. The Katana wins.

Comment

Ask JHILDE, he's had both a Kat and a SV1000.
      Kyle

Comment

Originally posted by arsenic View Post
        The fact that an SV is a V twin, and the Katana is an inline 4. The Katana wins.
        Pardon my ignorance, why do V twins not do well in your mind compared to inline 4's? I have no v twin experience so I really have 0 idea. (Not trying to thread jack, figured the OP might also want to know)
        1998 Katana 750
        1992 Katana 1100
        2006 Ninja 250

2006 Katana 600 RIP - 130k miles

Comment

Originally posted by shpielers View Post
          Pardon my ignorance, why do V twins not do well in your mind compared to inline 4's? I have no v twin experience so I really have 0 idea. (Not trying to thread jack, figured the OP might also want to know)
          When I read that, I did a lil search on google. This discussion seems helpful

Extra life.

Comment

Originally posted by shpielers View Post
            Well, if you pay someone to do all your work, I guess it doesn't matter. Since I do all my own work and this is KatRiders.com where $25 dollar is a lot of money. Working on a V twin sucks. Take most of the parts on an inline 4 and double them. The torque vs. max HP thing was not at all what I was talking about. I was simply stating that from a working on them stand point, I hate twins. They have a lot of positives to offer if nothing ever goes wrong.
            Last edited by arsenic; 05-03-2013, 02:45 PM.

Comment

Originally posted by arsenic View Post