X

Turn SIgnals will not work

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Turn SIgnals will not work

My turn signals will only work once in a while. Usually nothing happens if I press the signal button (right and left). Every once in a while the right signal will work. Any suggestions as to what could cause this problem? I am a newb with bikes...

well, there's two thing it could be. Either your handel bar switch is the problem, or there is a relay for the flashers on the battery box. Your problem is probably in the switch though.

Comment

The relay is a thermal type and will not work if there are any LED lights on the bike. LEDs require a special electronic relay. If there are no LED's on the bike, it's probably just a worn out relay causing the problem.

Comment

Could also just be the connections ...
        For example, If you unplug the left turn signal, the flip the switch to the right, the right will just stay on and not flash. Check 'em!
        "I'd rather have a bottle in front of me, than a frontal lobotomy"

"True wisdom, only comes from pain"

Comment

Originally posted by BlackKat93
          The relay is a thermal type and will not work if there are any LED lights on the bike.
          Not true..

I'm guessing you just have to check and clean your connections.
          Motorcycle electrics live a hard life. Water, vibration, sun all that.. Cleaning and adding di-electric grease will solve your problem along the way, find the problem and probably prevent other problems

Comment

I bet that peter is right .. do you keep the bike out side or is there hight humidity where you live?

Comment

I'm in Ottawa, Canada, so the bike just spent the winter in a garage in the cold, although it was winterized. The problem was there in the fall though, but not as bad (the bike sat for most of the summer too last year, although it was started periodically).