X

(POST) Rear tire size VS Handling

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• (POST) Rear tire size VS Handling

Now that my first season with the Kat is over, it's time for new tires, and I am going to go with the Michilin Pilot Road tires. They have good reviews, and I currently have a Pilot Power on the back and love the way it grips... but moving on to the question:

I read this web page about the POST katana rear tire size and handling: http://www.motorcycleanchor.com/Katana/kat_tires.html. I do mostly highway miles with some back roads here and there, but I am still a novice about understanding motorcycle physics at the tires grip limits (this is where I need help). My current tire size in the rear is a 170/60/17 (mich pilot power, came with the bike), though the oem size is 150/70/17. The grip is really good (which I can attest to the rubber compound), but according to this website, the handling should be worse than the oem size. I am looking to improve my riding skills, and don't really care for the fat tire look.

Since it's time for new tires (going to go with the pilot road, F&R), which rear tire size should I go with: the 170/60 or the 150/70??

Thanks
    -RyanR
    1999 Katana 600

160/60
    90% of motorcycle forum members do not have a service manual for their bike.

Originally posted by Badfaerie
    I love how the most ignorant people I have met are the ones that fling the word "ignorant" around like it's an insult, or poo. Maybe they think it means poo
    Originally posted by soulless kaos
    but personaly I dont see a point in a 1000 you can get the same power from a properly tuned 600 with less weight and better handeling.

Comment

Originally posted by scottynoface View Post
      160/60
      +1

I am currently running mich pilot powers and have 160/60 on mine. I love it!
      Former Marine 3/97-3/01
      MOS 0161 Semper FI!
      sigpic

Comment