X

Do i need new sprockets?

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do i need new sprockets?

Hello everyone, I am currently rebuilding my 92 katana 600. It was sitting for years when I bought it. 5k miles on spedo I hope its right. Here are the pictures of the sprockets. Do I need new ones? They don't look bad to me but I am new to this. If new is suggested what size sprockets should I change to currently they are 14/45 stock
    [IMG][/IMG]
    [IMG][/IMG]

I would say drive sprocket (small) yes. The other is ok but, I would change them as a set anyway.
    "I'm sorry, I didn't mean to upset you when I called you stupid. I thought you already knew..."
    spammer police
    USAF veteran
    If your a veteran, join the KR veterans group

Comment

Originally posted by 92xjunker View Post
      I would say drive sprocket (small) yes. The other is ok but, I would change them as a set anyway.
      Along with the chain. They should all be replaced as a set.

Comment

Thank you for the answers. i have the bike torn totally apart and fixing/replacing everything might as well do the chain and sprockets. should I stick with stock 14/45 or go up or down?

Comment

Depends on what your looking for, more top speed or more low end power. Smaller rear will yield more top speed, less low end grunt. Larger rear yields more low end grunt, less top speed (50 tooth is popular) keep in mind that the chain length will change with the sprocket size.
          "I'm sorry, I didn't mean to upset you when I called you stupid. I thought you already knew..."
          spammer police
          USAF veteran

Comment