X

Counting cam chain pins

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Counting cam chain pins

Hello...I am trying to finish the motor on my '97 750.I am not a professional wrench, but have rebuilt about 10 bike motors, and never had problems setting the cam timing before, even on V4 motors... Everytime I install the intake cam, the motor wants to bind up while i rotate it, and I can hear what I guess are the valves touching the pistons. If I remove the intake cam and hold the camchain up, it rotates fine. The notch on the exhaust cam is dead on. The intake cam always seems like it is maybe a tooth off, but I have 21 pins between the #2 and #3 marks on the sprockets. I am starting my count with the pin on the #2 mark and ending with the 21st pin on the #3 mark. That seems like the right way , but wanted to double check. Should I be loosening all the valve adjusters to set the cams, and then put them back in spec? I have not checked the cam chain for stretch yet, but I will be doing that tonight (hopefully).
    Thanks in advance for any input or advice.....

No , when I did mine it looked like it was a tooth off , but I triple-check my pin count , and even had a mechanic friend tell me I was doing it right . If I been slamming valves , I'da thunk after more than 10k miles , it'd be blowed-up by now ....
    I am a fluffy lil cuddly lovable bunny , dammit !

Katrider's rally 2011 - md86

Comment

You do have the cam chain idler pulley and the Cam Chain Tensioner installed and adjusted before you are attempting to turn the motor by hand? Correct? If not, the slacks the problem.
      If its not broke, Hit it with a bigger hammer and blame it on cheap imports

RIP Dad 3/15/08 Love and miss ya already

Originally posted by Nero
      Even I played for a minute or so, then I recovered what little manhood I had left and stopped.

Comment

uuummm, you can't count the pins with the idler gear on

Comment