X

Bandit 1200 header

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bandit 1200 header

Hi, i don't know if i have introduced myself yet, but i have just started re-visiting this new kat-riders site after the whole kp situation. anyway i have been restoring my '90 kat 750 for the last 6 months or so, paint, rims, carbs, sprockets, etc, and i need an exhaust. i kind of wanted to do a custom exhaust (unique/availability) , and i heard that i could use a Bandit 1200 header. The header's flanges are compatible but the collector hits the oil pan drain bolt, (could be modified), anyway does anybody forsee any problems with this change (carb/flow issues). thanks for the input in advance, this site has already been paramount to my restoration.
    "Requesting permission for flyby"

now how could you have introduced yourself and you only have 1 post? just kidding. anyway, welcome to KatRiders. i'm sorry i don't have the info you're looking for, but i'm sure someone on here will know. there are plenty of knowledgeable people on here, so don't worry. again, welcome.

www.vwvortex.com
    I have nothing to say, I have no opinion. That's what I learned from 9 1/2 years of marriage.
    Thanks to all who are serving in our GREAT ARMED FORCES from an old Navy Squid

Comment

I see a huge loss in low-end torque (which the Kat engine doesn't have a lot of to begin with since it's cam'd for top end grunt) because of the loss of back-pressure from the change in size.

Easy way to calculate it -- measure the inside of the stock header at the exhaust port, then measure the replacement. A little math will lead you to the difference in cross-sectional area, which is the critical value.

Example (values not absolute, just plucked out of the air):
      Stock 98+ Kat 600 header: 23mm diameter
      Stock 98+ Kat 750 header: 26mm diameter.

Area = Pi (radius^2)
      Radius = 1/2 diameter
      Thus
      Area = Pi ((.5 (diameter))^2)

For the 600, the formula would go like this: