X

Greetings from Alabama

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Greetings from Alabama

New Kat owner and new to the site. I found this board while looking for info online and I must say there is a ton of resources to be had. I am more of a lurker than a poster, but that is just me.

Some info:
    I traded this bike for a busted jet ski with trailer from a coworker. Good deal for both of us. What I do know is the bike is a 1992 GSX600F. There is no telling how many PO's have touched this thing so I decided to start taking it apart. The bike ran really well (like holy crap, this thing runs awesome) but I am not about to trust my life on a 20 year old bike without going through it first. I have been working at an automotive dealership as a tech for over 10 years and own a side business repairing boats (Yama and Merc Marine certified) so I know my way around a wrench. That being said; cars are cars, boats are boats, and bikes are bikes. I don't kid myself into thinking I know everything I need to know about these things so if I can't find it in the search menu, expect questions.

Before I got into it, I checked my vins and engine codes. I trust my bud, but you can never be too careful. Everything matched up, except one thing. The engine code was off. R736... I did some looking around and if I am reading this correctly it looks like it is a 1998 750 engine? The engine is also silver in color (with some terrible black over spray) so that also hinted at something being different. Not that I am complaining, but it just caught me off balance.

Everything on the bike (except the engine) seems to need work. I have mismatched bolts, bias tires, bad rear caliper, bad clutch cable and perch, bad rear spring/shock... the list goes on.