X

New Kat Owner

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Kat Owner

Hi. Let me start off by saying I am glad I found this site and have found some pretty helpful posts and articles so far. A little bit about me. I grew up out west in the desert and mountains and rode dirt bikes. Never have ridden a street bike. I have wanted one for awhile and finally talked my better half into allowing me to purchase a bike. I bought a '89 GSX600F Katana. I like the look of the bike, always have.

My initial thought was to fix the bike and ride it. Now after reading different articles and posts here and other sites, this bike is probably way too much for me right now. So on that note it will be a fix it up and sell it bike to make some money and get a smaller bike to start on (also will be taking the local motorcycle safety courses). As far as my mechanical abilities, I am an aircraft mechanic and have built and worked on stock cars, as well as my daily vehicles, so I am pretty comfortable doing anything.

As the bike goes, it sat for two years in the guys garage. So when I got to it, the battery was dead so I didn't start it. Bought it blind fo $900, put a battery in it and it fired up, albiet roughly. So far I have taken the carbs out, cleaned them and put them back together and back on the bike. I will be putting new plugs, filters and fluids in it in the near future.

My questions are:
    Is there anything else I should be changing/checking? (I am already going to repack the front forks)
    Should I put money into upgrades with body pieces (ie. custom undertail, lighting) repairing and painting the fairings?

I appreciate any and all suggestions and comments.

Thanks
    Scott
    sigpic

Hello Scott, welcome to KatRiders