Running a naked kat, for commuting use

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Running a naked kat, for commuting use

Hey all,
    My 96 Katana 600 has some banged up fairings, as well as damaged screw holes in the frame that can't be screwed into (previous owners took very poor care of bike), so the fairings are a tad loose no matter what I do.
    I'm poor, so I can't afford new fairings, and I'm a college student so I don't have time to repair the screw holes in the frame.
    All these factors are making me want to run a naked bike. Problem is doing this and still having a windscreen (I'm going to be using this bike to get back and forth to my school's airport facility on a daily basis, don't want to be bombarded by winds constantly when going highway speeds to get there)
    I know I can't just take off the side fairings and leave it at that. Any recommendations? I'd like to leave it with as many stock parts as possible.
    Would pictures be helpful?
    Thanks for any assistance.

Actually you can take off the main fairings and it'll run just fine, might look a tad funny with the stock mirrors tho.
    Chris

Originally posted by jetmerritt
    Save up for great gear and dress for the fall before you ride. If you can't afford good quality gear, don't ride. It's like saying you can't afford seat belts for your car. There are just no laws to make gear mandatory.

Comment

i ran my 96 750 naked. windscreen bolted rite up without the fairings
      craig
      1996 katana 750 (sold to my friend)
      1990 katana 1100

Comment

I run my prekat naked, no screen for commuting. Works just fine, but I do remember right after I took the screen off it took a little getting used to before I stopped noticing the wind so much.
        Katriders.com, we've got dumb answers!

Comment

Weld (or otherwise attach) a support:

Comment

Where can I order windscreens like that? I've got some friends that can help me jerry rig it.