X

Newb here!

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newb here!

Hello everyone, I'm new to the bike scene and thinking of getting one. My first choice was Suzuki GSX 600 Katana as my first bike. This is one of t he bikes that I can afford right now and the one that is not a rocket but does have some pep to get me around. The only thing that is not what I was looking for is the fact that it is air cooled. I live in Chicago and the traffic would be a problem for air cooled engine. So my question would be is the air cooling enough for this engine? Would the constant over heating damage the engine? (revs behaving eradically, engine shut off etc.) Any input is appreciated. Thanks.

P.S. if I were to save up a bit more and get the GSX-R 600 with the liquid cooling would it still be a good starter bike? What is the difference between the two? (GSX 600 & GSX-R 600)

Welcome, both to the boards and to motorcycling. Is a Kat a good starter? Sure if you're respectful of it. I taught my wife on my kat 600. Just keep in mind that b/c it's a sport tourer, it'll be heavier than other popular starter bikes. But that weight = stability at higher speeds. It's pretty forgiving on the throttle too, which is an added bonus.

I would steer clear of a GSXR 600 as a first bike (especially if you haven't ridden before. Lots more power and much lighter which means it's less forgiving if you're sloppy on the throttle, and can quickly get out of control in the hands of a newbie. Kat is a much better option.

You shouldn't have any problems with the Kat overheating in the hot weather. Even those who reside in my home state of Florida don't seem to report over-heating problems while out and about. Don't rule out other starter bikes either (such as the Suzuki GS 500F and the Kawasaki 500), they're light and have enough power to keep you entertained for a while.