Oil color on a GSX 600F '2000

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Oil color on a GSX 600F '2000

Hi all,

Beginner rider/owner with probably a very beginnerlike question.

What color should the oil be if you look at it through the side looking glass under the engine? Mine is black, as in pitch black. It was clear/brown before but after a rather long trip (500km or 310 miles or so) it turned black. I had filled it up a bit before the trip, synthetic (after reading through the forum :P )

So my questions are;

What color should it be?
    Is my beauty in danger?
    Any tips on engine care/bike care for a total beginner?

What kind of oil, brand, weight ?
    Did you change your filter ?
    Did you drain the oil cooler when you changed the oil ?
    Did the previous owner take care of the engine with regular oil changes ? I mean change the oil at 3000 miles, not 5000.
    How many miles on the bike ?
    Did you let the bike over heat/sit idle with out wind on the engine for too long ?

As you can see, there are lots of variables that determine why the oil appears black.
    I've bought several used vehicles and because the previous owner didn't change the oil like they were supposed to, the fresh oil can become dirty quicker. Oils have detergents that help clean varnish and sludge.
    My Katana-1100 17" wheel swap
    http://katriders.com/vb/showthread.php?t=136894

Comment

Thanks for the reply

The oil I bought was Shell Advance Ultra 4T 10W40 Synthetic. The oil the previous owner used was a Semi-synthetic kind.

I didn't change the filter, I only topped it up with about 1litre (aprox 1 quart) because the oil was barely at the minimum mark.

I didn't drain the oil cooler, I just topped it up.