X

Looking to purchas

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking to purchas

I'm looking to buy a new motorcycle. I'm a beginner it would be my first bike. I am looking at a 1999 Suzuki 600 katana and a 2005 kawasaki ninja 500r. I'll take any input any opinions. The suzuki has like 14,xxx miles on it and the ninja has 6xx miles on it. The ninja is practically new.... I'll suggestions on what to look at when I'm inspecting them too. I will be checking the ninja out tomorrow and the Katana out on Saturday. Prices are Katana $2500 and the ninja $2800.

Thanks in advance for any input

I had a similar year ninja 250 less power but same basic body work and stuff I got a 93 kat 600 payed less for it then what I sold my 250 for and I love it. I'm not sure how the newer kats are but the kat was much more comfortable I'm kinda a big guy and the ninja just didn't fit me right. But it all depends on what you think afterall it is your bike. Test ride both of them to see which you like better. I think the kat looks much better than the ninja though. There both good bikes

Comment

Thanks The used 51 I appreciate the post. Your right the katana definitely looks nicer.

Comment

I would go with the Katana if its in good shape because it is more stable with the full fairings & the extra weight.

Comment

Thanks for the feedback jeremy what key points would you suggest I inspect on both but particularly on the Katana since it's a little bit older.

Comment

Heh... you are asking which bike to buy on a Katana forum? Jk.. anyway here's my thoughts.

As much as I LOVE my Kat (also my first bike), I would definitely go for the Ninja if I were in your situation. I got my '93 Kat 1-1/2 years ago with ~19k miles on it (so basically the same situation you are in). As I got more familiar with the bike and read the service manual, I realized how much work needed to be done (and learned) with such an old bike.

-carb sync