X

Dead Battery = Parking Light On?

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dead Battery = Parking Light On?

So I went to start the bike today and nothing. Figured the battery was dead. so I jumped it with my car and it started up. First question, is it ok to jump a motorcycle battery with a car? it wont overload or anything will it?

I let it charge up for a bit and the bike started. so that is my problem. I am just wondering how the battery drained. I just realized (sorry, im still a Kat noob) that there is a parking light when you turn the key to lock and then a little more. i am thinking this is what happened. so what is the point of a parking light that stays on when you take your key out??! is that not suppose to happen? do you think i have other battery draining problems. I just bought the bike about a month ago, haven't had a battery problem yet. and the guy said he put a new one in beginning of this year. any advice?
    2006 Suzuki GSX600 Katana - 5k miles, shaved tail, gps cradle and hardwired, LED turn signals

Previous Bikes: 1992 Kawasaki Ninja ZX600C - SOLD

moving the key past lock into PARK turns the front parking light and the tail light on... this is useful if parking on teh side of the road with a breakdown situation, so you dotn run the headlight the whole time.

to prevent this from happening in the future, DON'T put it in park and walk away from it

See My Garage for mods...
    T-Rex Racing framesliders install and review thread
    Full Post 98 LED conversion how to thread

Comment

haha. thanks for the advice. I did end up finding a thread on the parking lights. I just have to get in the habit of looking back at the bike now. anyone replace with LEDs and test if they last longer? I left it on since Sunday afternoon (48 hours) and it was completely dead. Just wondering if a LED would last that long?
      2006 Suzuki GSX600 Katana - 5k miles, shaved tail, gps cradle and hardwired, LED turn signals

Comment