X

Low MPGs, '06 Kat 600

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Low MPGs, '06 Kat 600

I know that there are plenty of threads on MPGs here and I have read a lot of them, but I am a complete noob and need specific advice on where to start here.

I have never ridden a motorcycle before my kat, and I have been riding her for about 3 weeks now. My commute is 13 miles of which 6-7 miles are basically highway. I thought it was strange when I had to fuel up the first time at about 80 miles. This would be considered pretty conservative riding since I am just basically learning to ride. After the next fill up I started to calculate that I was getting about 22 MPG. I did some freeway riding and got a little over 25 MPG. I know this is abysmal for a kat so I want some advice on the next step.

The guy I bought the bike from is a dealer that buys repos, fixes them up and resells them. The only thing he did to this bike was put new tires on it and change the oil. As far as I know it runs great, but I AM a noob.

When I take this thing apart, what should I do first? Check the plugs I assume. How can I tell if it has a jet kit installed? The main theme of bad MPGs that I have seen here is bad emulsion tubes. Is that something that I can change myself if they look bad? How much do they cost and where can I get them. The bike does seem to smoke a lot when it's warming up, but I didn't notice it until it got a little colder. Very hot here in the Valley these days.
    Last edited by stonefry; 07-20-2010, 04:43 PM.

from the information youre giving its running rich for some reason. im sure the others on the forum will tell you to clean the carbs and resync without changing any parts ( not on a 06 model ). there shouldnt be any parts to change. im guessing either its because its been sitting for too long or that someone messed up the mixture screws.
    2015 BMW S1000R

Comment

are you filling it up when it starts to enter the red area, or waiting till its almost to E?