X

Second Day driving experience.

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Second Day driving experience.

Today was such a gorgeous day to ride. Started out in the late 70's and got in the mid 80's I rode for about 2 1/2 hours with my friend Jared and his girlfriend Amy. He has a zx-14 and his girlfriend has a 150cc scooter thingy (i like it, just can't remember the brand) He owns the Katana I drove today. Since I am a very noob driver, I practiced in a parking lot with them earlier this week for about a hour 1/2 learning various turning techniques and the such, then we drove for about a 3 miles on a slow road practicing shifting. So this is my second day to drive on an actual road. I take my class this week and I am goin to get my license next. Probably not the smartest idea to drive, but it was such a pretty day today, especially after yesterday with all the rain.

Its kinda scary how comfortable you can get on it. I can understand now how people feel that they don't need experience to drive much more "advanced" or sportier bikes. Its just so easy to go fast and gain a false sense of confidence. I really am looking forward to this course. I never imagined that driving would be that fun, and open, and free.

Its very noticeable how cars will simply not pay attention to you. I always try to notice / give respect to bikers on the road when I drive my car. I have a few group of friends who ride bikes. But it blows me away how they treat you like you are driving a car, with tailgating, cutting you off, using your turn signal and they simply won't let you over, just sit in your blind spot then speed up when you try to (I'm a noob, so I don't just want to turn the handle and gun it) and slow down when you do.

I used turn the handle and gun it cause I assumed that "floor it" isn't the correct term.

On bikes, you go WFO - not all the time of course, but you won't have any trouble making the pass.