X

voltage

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• voltage

Battery went dead on the Kat last Fri. Put a new one in checked the voltage and it was between 13 and 15...is my bike charging to high??
    The dead battery was put in March of 06..It had about 3500 miles o it..

Was that reading off of battery alone or was the bike running? I'm relatively new to the bike scene but in cars the charging system will read more than 12 volts while the vehicle is running. Car systems that are rated @ 12 volts are usually 12-14 volts.
    SFC Smith US Army Iraqi War Veteran.
    Honda 919 Rider

Comment

It was with the bike running..

Comment

With a new battery (well, 2 months old now) my Kat shows 15.23V @3,000 RPM.
        I thought it was a bit high so fitted a new voltage regulator.
        Now it shows 15.25 V @3,000 rpm
        Its a very reliable system as long as you haven't been jump starting a dead bike.
        If mileage is very high the generator brushes could be worn or you could possibly have a diode shorted?
        At least you can get to everything reasonable easy after removing left fairing (I remove sprocket cover/clutch cable as well to make things easier)
        PJ
        I'm not a complete idiot, but I'm working on it.
        There are three types of people in the world, those who can count and those who can't

Comment

Man, sounds like the last battery sure didn't last too long.
          =USAF= Retired

"If you can be convinced of an absurdity, you can be made to commit an atrocity." -Voltaire

Comment

Typical Voltages & Power-Draws, 98-06 GSXF series (most or all probably also applicable to pre-98's):

Bike off or disconnected from bike
            Brand-new, Fully charged battery: 12.9-13.2 volts
            Used battery, fully charged, healthy: 12.7 - 12.9 volts
            Charge/retest/replace if battery remains under 12.6 volts