X

Let's Be Realistic

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Let's Be Realistic

you all know what i do for a living with my bike. most of my miles are highway miles and realistically how many miles will my 750 kat last before it dies?

I change the oil and filter every 2500-3000 miles with good filters and top quality synthetic oil and i will do valve adjustments as scheduled and will never "abuse" the bike......can i expect 100k out of it or will it start becoming a mechanical nightmare before then?

the reason i ask is because i love this bike but at the 1k miles per week or more that im running it leads me to feel that i will be forced to replace it early to middle of next year. my next bike will most likely be a vstrom 1000 since the kat is no longer made....what can i realistically expect from this bike with good maintenance practices and everyday riding at a normal pace?
    I RIDE FOR A LIVING...WHAT ABOUT YOU??

100K is a reasonable expectation but at that mileage I'd start doing the oil changes every 2k after about 50K. But that's just me.
    sigpic

Comment

2K on synthetic oil?
      Why?
      93 1100....big kitty!

Check out the hook while my DJ revolves it...

Comment

Originally posted by Steveb
        2K on synthetic oil?
        Why?

Didn't see the synthetic. My bad. :P
        sigpic

Comment

Dude, I'd say WELL over 100k on this motor. As long as you take care of it, it will take care of you.
          Florida, the only place where you need your windshield wipers and sunglasses. At the same time.

05/02 1216 Kabandit
          18v Rigid Drill
          Craftsman Rubber Mallet with duct tape mod
          New Balance 765 running shoes from 10th Grade, with duct tape and super glue mod

Comment

I am going to be upset if I can not get at least 50k out of the bike. My youngest son has already claimed it when he is 16 so I guess I have it for another 4 years.

Comment