X

Chain issues

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Chain issues

Replaced the chain on my 1988 GSX1100F. Rode about 500 km. Had the rear tire replaced at a shop, and the next day riding the chain broke.

Had to double home on the GF's CBR125R and get the truck the next day.

I went cheap and got a non o ring DID chain.

This bike had the 530 conversion done. It has a larger rear sprocket.

The sprockets are steel and didn't look too worn, so I did not replace them.

The chain broke at the master link.

The chain was well lubed.

The chain was too hot to touch after it broke.

The chain cracked the front sprocket cover in 2 places, and destroyed one of the bolts holding it on. It also destroyed the link between the clutch slave and the clutch.

Here are some pics.

So. I am a very amateur mechanic who does his work on the patio of his apartment. I have the ability to break an anvil.

So, what do I need to do? Should I convert back to 532? I would prefer a smaller rear sprocket, but don't have a lot of money to waste.

I know I will need a new front sprocket cover and a new link for the clutch.

It also ripped out on of the holes for the hex bolts holding onto the front sprocket cover from the engine. It's not leaking. Will the cover be ok with one less bolt holding it on?

What caused this? Cheap chain, shop overtightened chain or 530 not strong enough?

Non O-ring chain with a master link.

Sprockets dont show any signs of lubricant adhesion.

I'd say it was overtightened slightly, ran dry and ended it's own misery

Get new chain and sprockets, stock. Oil it regularly.

Comment

Originally posted by Stumpy View Post
      Non O-ring chain with a master link.

Sprockets dont show any signs of lubricant adhesion.

I'd say it was overtightened slightly, ran dry and ended it's own misery

Get new chain and sprockets, stock. Oil it regularly.