X

New rider..help with wind issue

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New rider..help with wind issue

I ride with a bunch of experience riders but I am a beginner and I tell them that I feel like the wind is pushing me to one side and yes I am talking about when it is a little windy outside not from me driving on the bike. Today the wind was at about 15-20 mph and the wind was pushing me right and I was leaning left but it was uncomfortable and I felt like I couldn't gain speed due to the fear of blowing to the wall. Anyways question is...is this a normal feeling or how do I control the way the wind pushes me without pushing into another lane? It's a weird feeling and that's the best I can describe it.

It's very normal to feel like you're being pushed to the side if you have a strong cross-wind. That feeling is exaggerated if you are not relaxed and have the grip of death on the bars...which is typically how beginners ride under unfamiliar circumstances.

The best way to deal with this is to relax and let the bike lean over into the wind to compensate for the slight push. You just need practice riding in windy conditions and you will get used to it. Also, when you feel the cross wind, there is a tendency for the newer rider to let off the gas a little. This will contribute to the feeling of being pushed over and not being able to accelerate. You may even have to give it a little more throttle to maintain your speed if you've got a strong head wind.
    sigpic Mulholland Hwy Ride
    1992 Katana GSX600F (on permanent loan to a family member)
    2000 Suzuki Hayabusa
    First Hayabusa Commercial Hayabusa Design
    Hayabusa #1 Wonder of Motorcycles

Comment

Originally posted by KatanaGSX92 View Post