X

Bad habits?

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bad habits?

So I'm watching a video, "Ride Like a Pro." It stars a police officer who basically goes over the MSF safety course. Worth watching, but it won't replace actually taking the MSF course. Anyway, it reminded me of 3 things I was taught in the MSF course that I no longer do:

1) I shift gears in corners, but I keep the engine at nearly the same RPM and let out the clutch more slowly than usual.
    2) I use the front break while turning, at slow speeds, but I'm much gentler with it until I straighten out.
    3) When the rear brake locks and results in a rear tire skid I let off the brake as the bike starts to rebound. This happens to me less than once/year and probably hasn't happened in at least 2 years.

What are your thoughts on this? If it matters I've been riding the same Kat since August 2001.
    Some people are primarily positive, others negative. Some argue about whether the glass is half full or half empty. Me? I drink the contents and call it empty.

1- if you can do it smoothly, then you're ok. The MSF tries to keep even idiots safe.
    2- pretty much the same. If you've been on the same bike for that long, you know what it takes to keep it balanced and smooth. Do just that, and you'll be fine. Gravel in a turn would probably bite you harder if you're on the front brake than the rear, though.
    3- training yourself to not let off the brake/gas when the back end gets funny is like training yourself to not blink when you get socked in the jaw. Work on your response to it when it happens, but I wouldn't worry too much about it. I highsided when I let off the gas after the back end stepped out, and I can't guarantee I wouldn't do it again. It takes time to develop a conditioned response like that.