X

wiggle at speed

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• wiggle at speed

i have a naked 04 600. I pulled the plastics to sand and paint, but had no idea how long it was going to take. While riding down highway last night about 80 mph (it was pretty windy here in tampa) i felt some wiggle in the front end. maybe a couple inches of movement, but enought to be disconcerted. I am pretty new to all this and felt the need to ask. Is this normal feel in the wind the lack of fairings and windscreen or maybe something in the suspension or forks or something? Should I feel any movement at 80 on a windy highway?
    May the road rise up to meet you.
    May the wind always be at your back.
    May the sun shine warm upon your face,
    and rains fall soft upon your fields.
    And until we meet again,
    May God hold you in the palm of His hand.
    RIP Marc

On the highway bikes blow around, wiggle and lean all the time. It Depends on the vehicles ahead of you and the winds around you. Get around trucks and trailers and you can get some cool buffeting effects.
    2007 Honda CBR600rr
    2007 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-14

visit the Twisted Assassins
    sigpic

Comment

Just to make sure we're talking the same thing...

Wiggle - you mean the bike blowing around and feeling unsettled underneath you?

or

Shimmy - At speed, the handlebars tend to vibrate but it goes away at low speeds.

---------

Wiggle = probably wind and keep an eye on it to make sure nothing is amiss

Shimmy = new head bearings could be required.

Comment

Also check condition/pressure in your tires. Could be a feathered/cupped front tire - due to improper pressure, worn, out of balance etc.
        2006 Katana 750 - Daily therapy
        2005 ZZR1200 - Weekend therapy

Comment

may be either a shimmy or wiggle, how would i go about checking the head bearings? tires eem to be in pretty good shape.
          May the road rise up to meet you.
          May the wind always be at your back.