X

Hand/finger postion

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hand/finger postion

Ok im pretty new to riding and after looking through the search engine on this site and couldnt find the answer to my question. So here goes

What is the best/safest way to have your fingers/hand positioned on the grips. For example when im riding i use 1 finger on the clutch and 2 on the break lever. My cosin rides a ninja zx10r he uses 3 fingers on front break. Is there a "right" way? Or is it more of a what best for everyone? Thanks for whatever help i get

well in the MSF class they will tell you to use all 4 fingers when applying the front brake, but i myself when i ride and 'cover' the front brake i 'cover' the brake with 2 fingers....and use 2 applying (depending on how fast i need to slow down) and 4 in emergency situations when i need to stop ASAP! .i don't think there is a right or wrong way....just what suits your riding style.

I dont have "hobbies" I'm developing a robust Post-Apocalyptic skill set....

http://www.excessivehoppyness.blogspot.com

Comment

Originally posted by whitecl0ver View Post
      well in the MSF class they will tell you to use all 4 fingers when applying the front brake, but i myself when i ride and 'cover' the front brake i 'cover' the brake with 2 fingers....and use 2 applying (depending on how fast i need to slow down) and 4 in emergency situations when i need to stop ASAP! .i don't think there is a right or wrong way....just what suits your riding style.

'98 Katana 600
      '08 Boulevard C50T

sigpic

Comment

+2
        American by birth, Italian by the grace of God

Comment

+3

I wish I could use one on my clutch lever.

(I've lubed it and made sure it wasn't being pinched by the tank but it is still stiffer than I would expect. )
          -2000 "750"

Comment

+4

technically, its whatever works best for you.
            -
            -

I poured spot remover on my dog. Now he's gone.

Comment

Do whatever feels right.