X

highway riding

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• highway riding

Hello all! I was riding on the highway the other night and was getting blown all over the road. I am not an experienced rider as this is my first bike in about 15 years however i am no novice either. Has anyone ever experienced this and what am i doing wrong? It was a pretty scary thing for me.

Rule #1 relax..

Due to several factors;
    *relitively small contact patches.
    *lean = turning
    *you are the same shape as a sail
    Means that cross winds effect a bike.
    My advice:
    #1 relax
    #2 remember you may have to lean/turn to counter wind
    #3 see #1.
    #4 do not add too much input! This could do more harm then good (see #1 for tips on that)

If you make your self like a reed in the wind, grashopper, you will see that while sometimes tiring,
    cross winds will become easy to handle. Yes, you will get blown from side to side but when you find your self in this position, try and position yourself away from other cars. If in the odd chance that you get blown
    into another lane, you'll have a place to go..

Comment

[quote="Black_peter"]Rule #1 relax..

What he said. It was hard for me to relax in cross winds but after I finally did the ride was a WHOLE lot better. 8)
      My Every Move Is A Calculated Step............

*~*~*~*KNIGHTRIDERS*~*~*~*

Comment

Yep, what they said... I ride everyday on an East -West highway with a steady wind all the time from the south.. mostly 15-20 mph straight across(with occasional gusts to 30). You pretty much just lean/steer a little into it. If your crossing lanes with your lean, it's too much obviously, just keep your distance from other cars and you'll be fine.

Take a Spin With The KR Mascot...
        http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wdjHBFbMAWE

Comment

Originally posted by Black_peter
          Rule #1 relax