X

Hard cornering chalk or butter???

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hard cornering chalk or butter???

I'm pretty new to streetbikes. I've done alot of dirtbike and fourwheeler riding but not much pavement. My question is how much warning do you get before the bike slides out from underneath you when cornering hard?? Will it slide slowly and consistantly like chalk on a board or be all tight then slam like hitting hot butter?? I know it will have alot to do with tires and road conditions but any advice could probably save some rash.

It really does depend alot on the road conditions and your tires. If you hit some gravel, dust, or other debris on the road, it can slip out from under you in a heartbeat and before you know it you're low siding. Or... you can hit a small slick spot on the road like a patch of oil, water, gas, or whatever and your rear tire can slide or skip for a second and then grab quickly again which could cause a high side if you aren't careful if you panic and grab a handful of brake.

Comment

Also some good riding gear will help save you from road rash if you do go down..

Help Support Katriders.com via Motorcyclegear.com

Comment

Like Matt said..
        I will add that sometimes you can lose the rear and
        not lose the bike, you just side step a bit and go
        on your way (with some residual clenching)..

Comment

Scary Stuff. Simply scary. I like personally to go straight over the handle bars and roll 10-15 times...Yet another reason to wear protective gear.
          I wouldn't be so paranoid... if everyone wasn't out to get me.

Comment

So chalk unless you hit some butter then??

Comment

i was taking a turn and got on the gas a little to much dont think i hit any 'butter'. the wheel started to spin loose and the backend slid to the side it did feel like chalk when i think back about it. i felt it going to the side and got off the gas just enough to stop the wheel from spinning and made the turn fine.