X

installing rear running light

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• installing rear running light

Alright i'm a complete noob when it comes to wiring. Im working with a 1990 gsx600 harness. i know that i need to connect the running light i bought from advanced auto parts(its 2 bulbs) to a ground and the other "to a key on hot wire"... dunno what the quotes mean but i found a black/white trace ground wire and the brown running light wire... hooking those wires up to the light didn't work tho.. how do i test these wires with a multimeter? or better yet, am i even doing it the right way?

thanks,
    fkat

Black white is ground. Lemme check the wiring diagram for your hot.

Yup, brown should be your hot, as the white/black wire is the brake light wire.

To use a multimeter, black goes to black/white, red goes to brown, set to DC voltage, turn key on.
    Last edited by 05RedKat600; 09-05-2011, 02:21 PM.

Comment

Originally posted by 05RedKat600 View Post
      Black white is ground. Lemme check the wiring diagram for your hot.

Yup, brown should be your hot, as the white/black wire is the brake light wire.

To use a multimeter, black goes to black/white, red goes to brown, set to DC voltage, turn key on.
      thanks for your time redkat. I wrapped the wires onto the right probes and tested on all the dc voltage magnitudes and they all read 0. Where do i go from here?

Comment

Fuses. Well, maybe. Have to check again.

Check for voltage at your license plate light, as it uses the same wires.

Also, do your turn signals work back there? The running light uses the same ground......
        Last edited by 05RedKat600; 09-05-2011, 03:11 PM.

Comment

Fuses. Well, maybe. Have to check again.
          that what i would have figured but all my fuses are intact. I've got new 10a red fuses in all the slots

Also, do your turn signals work back there? The running light uses the same ground......