Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

Looks like Ive got some work ahead of me.... (Post Kat)

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looks like Ive got some work ahead of me.... (Post Kat)

Well, going through some routine maintenance the other day, I came across quite a few "points of interest" and pretty much determined why I was able to buy my bike for $1000... haha.

I have several years of mechanical experience but this is my first carb'd vehicle, so any assistance/input is definitely appreciated.

So, on to the fun stuff.

First off, the oil drain plug is rounded off so I get to deal with that. Not a big deal as Ive dealt with this many times before. The only thing that makes it a little more of a pain is the "ridge" that goes around about 1/3 of the plug which makes it pretty much impossible to get vice grips on the couple edges that I could grab. Looks like Ill be doing a little work with a dremel to try to flatten off a couple edges of the plug so i can grab them.

Here is where I will start to need some help:

When I go to start my bike, if I give it full choke, it immediately shoots up to about 4K RPMs. I can adjust it to about 1/2 choke and get it to come down around 3k RPMs but even that is too high according to the owners manual (should be around 2k-2.5k). Is this maybe to do with the choke cable being too tight? Routed improperly?

The next thing is that the idle is extremely low. Im talking like 500-800 RPM after being warmed up (should be about 1.2k). The previous owner had obviously tried to adjust it because the idle screw is turned all the way out and yet the bike still idles that low? Any suggestions to fix that? Could it have been turned with the bike off or not warmed up properly?