X

Slipping out of 2nd gear...

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Slipping out of 2nd gear...

I just bought my Katana 600 on Tuesday and took it out for the first time today since it's been raining up here in MA for the last several days. First gear is fine, but when I shift into 2nd it only engages up to about 5k RPMs and drops back into neutral. If anyone needs anymore info to help diagnose the issue let me know, but I'm assuming its the gear itself and from my research I've learned I'll probably have to open it up and do hours worth of work myself. Thanks in advance guys...

P.S.- If anyone can tell me which fuse is connected to the headlight and what kind it is that would be great. (I'm new to the world of bikes and this is my first one.)
    '91 Kat 600 SF Project

never have done the work myself my friend had a 92 cbr 600 that would do that and the mechanic said it was the dogears. not sure how much work that is or if its something else just something that could be the problem .........

someone chime in that could be more helpful

Comment

I can tell you this, not by experience, but just from reading tons of other threads of similar content: 2nd gear tends to be the one that takes the most abuse getting jammed a lot on on quick take offs. It's probably a bent shifter fork which some say is majorly expensive work. I've had another friend say its a cheap part...however, requires taking the engine out which is tedious and time consuming (which translates into $$$ when you pay a shop by the hour for labor). Some folks ride for a long time without a second gear, they just shift right up to 3rd, other people seem to have had some catastrophic problems when gears go out....in hindsight my answer may not have helped...

do some searching on the forum search you will find lots of other threads, most likely with much more helpful info than I just gave.
      "Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy" - Ben Franklin

Comment