X

What will I find?

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What will I find?

I'm new to the bike thing and have found these things to be incredibly tempermental. That having been said, I've got a problem.

Here's the deal. 93 Kat 600. 6000 miles.

It has always ran like a charm since I bought it a little over a year ago until recent.

The problem came on fairly sudden. It will not idle. I smell gas when I do get it to run and if I choke it it wants to run at 5g, Half choked it flutters between 2500 and 3000. I have changed petcock, wires, plugs. Took out 5 degree and installed original signal generator.

Now on top of all that it's ticking rather loudly. I just now took off the plastics and did the spit test on the exhaust. All sizzle with the exception of #3.

I'm really going to have to tear into this thing and my question is as to what would be the wise way to proceed? What I mean is what should I check in order as I go along and does anyone care to venture a guess as to what I will find.

Ty for all replies.

If I where you I would start with draining the tank and checking for rust, along with a good carb cleaning, Then check and adjust your valves. But I am no mechanic this is just what I would do. I am sure there will be someone else with other ideas posting for you soon.

Help Support Katriders.com via Motorcyclegear.com

Comment

Yeah , if you've already checked/replaced all that other stuff , then it's probably in the carbs . I'd GUESS that it has something to do with your float in that carb (#3) .
      I am a fluffy lil cuddly lovable bunny , dammit !

Katrider's rally 2011 - md86

Comment

I agree with MD............sound like carb # 3.

Also, what did your #3 plug look like?
        I've owned over 70 Katanas - you think I know anything about them?
        Is there such a thing as TOO MANY BIKES?
        Can you go TOO FAST on a bike?
        Welcome to KatRiders.com! Click here to register

Comment