X

Can someone help me with timing?

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can someone help me with timing?

I have a 1993 katana gsx600f I'm having issues starting it I'm thinking I lost the proper timing after putting the head back on, I marked the chain and cam but i'm thinking i got a few or more degrees off when I put it back on, Where I need help is resetting the proper timing again... I'm pretty good with engines and have timed a few ars but this is my first shot at a DOHC engine. So I need to know after I set the 1st cylinder to TDC do I also set the cam shafts to TDC using the markings on the shaft also what do the numbers on the cam shaft gears mean??
    from what I can tell I should be setting them at 13 degrees past TDC?
    Or as some in this forum have said 21 pins.... What does that mean?
    I know how to get 13 degrees but the pins terminology is escaping my brain??

A Big Thanks to anyone that can help I can't wait to get on my kat and enjoy the ride....

I believe the pins counting is referring to the number of pins between the cams. Since you are setting the chain on the sprockets without the idler sprocket in the middle, it's helpful to know. I haven't looked at the cam gears in quite a while, so forgive me for not immediately recalling the markings. If I could make a suggestion, download the service manual and use it.
    Any and all statements by Loudnlow7484 are merely his own opinions, and not necessarily the opinion of Katriders.com. Anything suggested by him is to be followed at your own risk, and may result in serious injury or death. Responses from this member have previously been attributed to all of the following: depression, insomnia, nausea, suicidal tendencies, and panic. Please consult a mental health professional before reading any post by Loudnlow7484.

Comment

Haven't been able to find a manual cause i'm cheap and can't afford the damn thing right now.