Stops at 2000 RPMs

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Stops at 2000 RPMs

Hi

I noticed couple days ago that sometimes when rpms are going down (I rev it and then let go) it stops around 2000 rpms for couple seconds and then it goes down a bit to a normal rmps when idle (around 1200). Other then that bike works perfectly fine, it revs well, there is no loss of power, just this issue from time to time.
    Thanks for any advice,
    davepol

The three things I remeber from here are:

vacuum leak

carbs set too lean

and

out of sync carbs
    How To Install Race Tech Emulators & Rebuild Forks
    How To Repack Yoshimura RS3 Exhaust
    How To Install Oil Cooler Fans
    How To Install Audiovox Cruise Control On A 1998+ Katana

Comment

The bike is 3 years old (9200miles) so I think carb sync would not be a bad idea, especially since I have never done it before Can out of sync carbs mess up anything on my bike?
      thanks again,
      davepol
      Last edited by davepol; 02-14-2009, 08:26 PM.

Comment

Out of synch will just make it run & idle a little funky .
        Throttle cable binding or misrouted or done can cause crap like that , too . So can crap in the carbs .
        I am a fluffy lil cuddly lovable bunny , dammit !

Katrider's rally 2011 - md86

Comment

Originally posted by md86 View Post
          Throttle cable binding or misrouted or done can cause crap like that
          If the RPMs rise when turning from steering lock to steering lock then definitely misrouted cables.
          How To Install Race Tech Emulators & Rebuild Forks
          How To Repack Yoshimura RS3 Exhaust
          How To Install Oil Cooler Fans
          How To Install Audiovox Cruise Control On A 1998+ Katana

Comment

Hi