X

This is probably the worst first post ever

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• This is probably the worst first post ever

I just bought an 04 750 with a D&D exhaust and I know nothing else about it but that. (Used to be a Harley guy) How do I know if the previous owner installed a jet kit? (Bought from a dealer so I don't know who owned it before me) Do I need one if he/she didn't install one? Bike seems to run fine...ie no stalling, sputtering, backfiring. Like I said, I made the switch from Harleys to a Katana and I'm a little confused. By trade I'm a jet mechanic, and I like to work on cars and trucks on the weekends, but I can't work on this bike to save my life. (Not because I don't know how. Because the whole damn thing is covered in plastic) How do I take my fairings off to work on the bike? I tried once, but I'd get 5 fasteners out only to discover 5 more. Then when I thought I was done I put down my allen wrench and started gently pulling (don't want to break it) and discovered even more fasteners (mostly screws). I want to change my oil but I can't get to the engine. So I guess my questions are
    1-How do I take off the fairings? Do they all come off at once or is it possible to take take off only one?
    2-Is there a way to tell just by looking at the carbs (4 of them!!My truck has 1!!) if a jet kit has been installed? (For example, I installed a jet kit in my Sportster and part of that involved removing a screw that was hidden behind a welch plug. Had to remove the plug to get to the screw and anyone who looked where the plug was could tell the kit had been installed)
    3-For any former Harley owners, how long does it take to get used to 12,000 RPM? Anything above 5,500 and I think it's gonna fly apart.

2) To tell if a jet kit has been installed pull one of the carb top "caps" off and remove the needle from the slide. If it's adjustable then it has a kit installed.
    1) the fairings are multi piece