X

Gear Shifting Question

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Gear Shifting Question

Hi im new to the forum and new to riding and was wondering if im in 4th and coming to a stop when my rpm is around 2k and i shift all the way down to one without letting go of the clutch is that bad for my tranny?

may sound idiotic but just a reminder again, im new to all this.

thanks

Yes, it is bad.

And what happens when your in 4th going 40 or 50mph and your already in 1st, and you need to make a quick evasive maneuver if your in first with the clutch in going 30, and you let the clutch out your rpm's will jump pretty high, and that could mean disaster. I wouldn't shift into first unless you are going slower than 10mph.

Go the to FAQ section of the forum and look for the newbie thread, you will find answers to ALL your beginner questions and you'll even find answers to questions you didn'y even know you had.

Ride safe!
    Florida, the only place where you need your windshield wipers and sunglasses. At the same time.

05/02 1216 Kabandit
    18v Rigid Drill
    Craftsman Rubber Mallet with duct tape mod
    New Balance 765 running shoes from 10th Grade, with duct tape and super glue mod

Comment

I wouldn't down shift at all. when your coming to a stop pull in the clutch a shift into neutral, no reason to downshift.

Comment

Originally posted by arsenic13
        I wouldn't down shift at all. when your coming to a stop pull in the clutch a shift into neutral, no reason to downshift.
        That's not what they teach new riders in the MSF course....
        Florida, the only place where you need your windshield wipers and sunglasses. At the same time.

05/02 1216 Kabandit
        18v Rigid Drill
        New Balance 765 running shoes from 10th Grade, with duct tape and super glue mod

Comment

yeah, I know, my bad, I'm just to lazy to downshift

Comment

Haha, as are a lot of people I know and ride with.