X

++++ Left My Keys on ++++

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ++++ Left My Keys on ++++

I left my keys on and my bike won't start. I tried to push start her but had no luck. I have no head lights either how would I start her sorry for the lame question but I'm a newbie. Thanks ahead of time for any advice.....

had this problem a couple times. for some reason my back light stays on sometimes. anyway, the first time i was able to push it while in gear and then let out the clutch and start it. worked fine, but i think it still had a little juice left. other time, had a friend just connect his cables to his truck battery. didnt even have to start his truck. took a whole 2 seconds to start my bike. hopefully you have a vehicle and cables. hoped this helped.

Comment

IT WORKED!!!

You The man Lord!!!

Comment

Reposted from http://www.katriders.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=14825

Originally posted by The CyberPoet
        Things to know about motorcycle batteries (in general):

All motorcycle batteries lose storage capacity every time they are run down, losing 25 to 40% of their remaining long-term capacity (AGM's are closer to 25% -- standard batteries closer to 40%). Since your bike needs about 30 amps to crank the starter, running it dead three to four times can leave it without a full 30 amps of capacity left, and it may not be able to start your bike no matter how much you charge it. This is also why it is highly recommended to keep your bike battery on a charger when not in use -- it keeps the storage full, helping keep this from happening.