X

Stalling while riding

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Stalling while riding

Can anyone tell me what going on with '01 Katana....it's stalling while coming home. It just stopped and had to pop clutch to restart. Four times within four miles. What should I check?

I'm new to actually messing with my own bike. Mine does the same thing. I believe it's your carbs. Probably need cleaning.

Comment

Need more info. Does it just die, does the idle drop to a stall. How does the the motor run, idle stable at 1100-1300, does it rev and drop down to a normal idle with no hang or dip? after fire? bogging at any rpm range. any service recently done. What diagnostic have you done?
      "I'm sorry, I didn't mean to upset you when I called you stupid. I thought you already knew..."
      spammer police
      USAF veteran
      If your a veteran, join the KR veterans group

Comment

I would start with checking your kickstand safety switch.

Help Support Katriders.com via Motorcyclegear.com

Comment

+1 on sidestand switch. Clean the plunger up real good, give it a good soaking with electrical cleaner.

Comment

Originally posted by albnton View Post
            Can anyone tell me what going on with '01 Katana....it's stalling while coming home. It just stopped and had to pop clutch to restart. Four times within four miles. What should I check?
            Just died while steady idle goin down the street.

No recent work has been done....just purchased from previous owner last week.
            Last edited by albnton; 08-27-2013, 09:01 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

Comment

Have you checked your sidestand switch?

If it triggers - it will kill your bike stone dead.

Comment

+1, I agree, sidestand safety switch
                "I'm sorry, I didn't mean to upset you when I called you stupid. I thought you already knew..."
                spammer police
                USAF veteran
                If your a veteran, join the KR veterans group

Comment