X

Spray paint question

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spray paint question

So over the last two weeks i have been working on repainting all the plastics on my bike. The fairing were scratched up pretty bad so i sanded everything down to the plastic, rinsed it off with some cleaners and water. The Paint i am using is all Dupli-Color automotive spraypaint (I dont have money to spend on high quality paint). anyway i laid down 3 or 4 coats of primer on each piece and let that sit over the weekend. I picked up some black glossy for the color, and the first 2 coats looked good when they dried yesterday, but today when i laid down the 3rd coat there was grey and white splotches and streaks all over once it dried. (happened from 2 different cans). Does this usually happen or could i have done something wrong? This is the first time i have taken my time and painted anything big so i am no pro. Also it was quite humid outside today when i was painting, dont know if that could affect paint that much

Humidity definitely has an effect although I've never had that sort of result. Hit the search and look up painting. There's some pros on here who can probably explain it.
    Wherever you go... There you are!

17 Inch Wheel Conversion
    HID Projector Retrofit

Comment

Why so much primer? A single even coat is plenty. Too late now, but just keep that in mind the next time.

Humidity and temperature will play a HUGE role in how paint lays out, cures, adheres, and finishes. Sounds like you got the short end on this one. How long exactly did your primer sit before painting? What primer did you use? Did you mix a lacquer and an enamel? Too many variables right now to give you a definite answer as to what went wrong. I'm not a pro, but can paint rather decent, and I mix and sell paint where I work. TMcCall on here is a pro painter, hopefully he'll chime in soon.