X

cruiser tires on a pre kat

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• cruiser tires on a pre kat

ok I am new to street bikes and have recently bought my first kat. it is a 1990 600. I do not take this bike to the track, it is for commuting and occasionally a joyride in the mountains. I am looking to replace the rear tire and I need some info because the local mechanics don't agree and none of them seem to make any sense.

I have purchased a shinko 712 150/70 to put on it, partly because it is cheap and partly because I Have had great experience with this tire on my Harley sportster. this tire is a cruiser tire

everything I have read and all the measurements I have taken, make me believe that there shouldn't be any issues but I have been told things like

"the beads on a street rim are different than a cruiser rim and wont fit a cruiser tire"
    or
    "the measurements for a cruiser tire are different than a street tire and the cruiser tire will be too tall."
    and
    "a cruiser tire is made for a heavier bike and will be sliding all over the road if I use a cruiser tire"

to me none of these things seem correct but I thought I should ask you guys.

my question is will this tire fit my bike, and will there be any issues if I use a cruiser tire?
    I understand that there will be handling differences but will they make the bike unsafe?

140/80-17 is your stock rear tire size, you can find one that's cheap
    and safe to do your daily tours. Enough said!

Comment

Cruiser tires can handle the weight of a Kat. Tire profile will be flatter on a cruiser tire, not the tire the Kat was designed for. How much do you ride Conti motions are a great tire for the price.
      "I'm sorry, I didn't mean to upset you when I called you stupid. I thought you already knew..."
      spammer police
      USAF veteran
      If your a veteran, join the KR veterans group

Comment