X

wheel confusion

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• wheel confusion

ok, i'm new to the bike world and i'm a little confused with some stuff. for the most part i understand everythin i really need to know, but i don't quite get the whole wheel situation. what is the differnce between wheels??? i know there is a size matter, but as for the connection of it to the bike??? like a car has a lug pattern, does a bike??? if someone could help me understand this, i'd appreciate it.
    Q. "What do you think when you see a pretty girl walking down the street" -A. "One side of me says, 'I'd like to talk to her, date her'. The other side of me says , 'I wonder how her head would look on a stick?"

Can you clarify? Do you mean tires or wheels?

For the most part, the aftermarket is specific to brand. Are you looking to fab up something on your own?

If we ever reach the point where we can't openly discuss riding bikes on acid without even a modicum of civility, then the terrorists have won.

HORSE BANG!!! ........props to *GP*

Official coefficient of friction test dummy

Comment

i'm talkin wheels.
      Q. "What do you think when you see a pretty girl walking down the street" -A. "One side of me says, 'I'd like to talk to her, date her'. The other side of me says , 'I wonder how her head would look on a stick?"

Comment

The wheels have several possible differences:

(A) The physical size in terms of diameter/radius.

(B) The physical size in terms of width between the mounting flanges which the tire lip seals to.

(C) The size of the bearings & axel, or alternative system it is designed to mount to. Obviously a system designed for a single-sided swing arm isn't going to mate up to a dual-sided swing arm.

(D) The material they are made of, and as a result, the mass (weight) of the wheels (which directly affects handling)