Pants...what to do?

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pants...what to do?

Hi all,

I'm new to the whole motorcycle thing, and have purchased decent gear for my head, feet, upper torso, and hands. What's left is pants, which I didn't think was that big of a deal until I read the article about the road rash queen in another thread.

So, I'm looking into pants, but I'm not even sure what I need. The idea of overpants to wear over my jeans sounds logical, but I'm afraid that still won't be enough protection. Leather overpants would just be too hot. I'm also considering leather pants, but it gets even more confusing there...should I just settle for the cheap Teknic Chicane's or pony up for a pair of Vanson's that'll last me my whole life.

So, what did you guys do for your first pair of pants, and with hindsight, what would you do now?

Thanks!
    Last edited by therippa; 10-23-2007, 11:48 AM.

Chaps..
    I know it sounds all Village People but quality chaps offer the strength of pants (and almost the same coverage) and they are more comfortable over pants. That was what I got as my first pant option. I got Vanson's. Roll them up and stuff them in your helmet.. good to go.

Comment

If you want the ultimate in protection, grab a pair or leather racing pants. Shift racing, Teknic, Joe Rocket, etc are a few of the brands among the many. Look for when online stores are clearing them out. You will save hundreds. Flea bay is also a great option for some used ones as well. As long as they are not scuffed up and are armored, then you are good to go.
      Just make sure they are very snug in fit as you do not want them to roll up on you if you go down. At a minimum, you should be wearing some reinforced riding jeans. Nothing protects like leather though.
      "I have told you all this so that you may have peace in me. Here on earth you will have many trials and sorrows. But take heart, because I have overcome the world."
      JOHN 16:33

Comment