X

Carb Mixture (pilot) screws?

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Carb Mixture (pilot) screws?

My kids 2004 Kat600 has sat for a couple of years (on and off). Last season, it was only ridden once.

We were not aware of the bowl drains so you all know what has happened.

It idles like crap, pops on deceleration, hard to keep lit when you first start it.

So.. I decide to take off the carbs and give them a good cleaning. The first thing I checked was the position of the idle mixture screws..

The screw plugs were already removed by the bike shop when it went in for its 600 mile service.

The position(s) are all over the place. From left to right (when sitting on the bike), 1 is 3 1/4, 2 is 4 1/4, 3 is 2 3/4, and 4 is 3 3/4.

Should I put them back where they were or should I open them all the same when I put it back together? I have read a bunch of posts stating where to set them but they are all set the same.

I'm not a bike mechanic but I am pretty handy at this stuff. In the old days of multi-barrel automobile carburetors, you would adjust the idle mixture screws to get maximum RPM. Once you had them set, if you open one a bit more, the RPM would drop and if you closed it a bit from max RPM it would drop also.

Same with a scoot? Advise? Any one near Chicago that wants to clean the carbs and sync em after I get it back together?

Those settings don't sound right. I would think start at two turns out and see how that goes.

With a jet kit, you usually start at 2.5 turns out.

I think my pre was 2.25 turns out when we drilled the caps out.
    -Steve

sigpic
    Welcome to KatRiders.com! Click here to register
    Don't forget to check the Wiki! http://katriders.com/wiki

Comment

Would they adjust the same as I explained on a multi barrel automobile carburetor?

Also... As long as I got your attention, the idle RPM adjustment is bottomed out and the scoot idles at a bit over 600 r's. It has been this way since it was new.