Katana of the Month - May 2008  XMAN75
 

Welcome to the KatRiders.com forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   KatRiders.com > Service Department > Mechanics 101

Mechanics 101 Can't get it to run right? Find a trick to add HP?
From the first oil change to completely rebuilding the engine,
this is the place to talk about the heart of the beast!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-05-2012, 09:30 AM   #11
MikeyZ
Tank Slapper
 
MikeyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston
Posts: 448
iTrader: (2)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scottynoface View Post
Stock is already off by 5-10% from the factory...
The way I read it was that it was fine before he got the chain and sprockets installed...

ah who cares? suck it up or get a DRD
MikeyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 09:46 AM   #12
steves
Argh
Supporting Member
 
steves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: 19403
Posts: 29,825
iTrader: (18)

Default

GPS is not an accurate representation of speed, although it's not common for a stock speedo to be off 10-15%.

Much of the GPS accuracy will reside in how good your receiver is.

GPS works by sampling, or taking readings over time. Most algorithims tend to calculate speed by measureing distance traveled in a straight line. most roads aren't perfectly straight. The other thing to take into account is movment along a Z axis. I don't know any GPS's that account for elevation when doing the speed calculation.
__________________
-Steve




Welcome to KatRiders.com! Click here to register
Don't forget to check the Wiki! http://katriders.com/wiki

steves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 10:16 AM   #13
cintidude04
Kat Legend
Supporting Member

 
cintidude04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Vagabond
Posts: 5,654
iTrader: (24)
eBay ID: cintidude04

Default

My zumo 660 does steve.
__________________
1992- project katfighter
2005- GSXR750
2001- TL1000R
http://katriders.com/vb/showthread.php?t=111130
www.lunchtimecigar.com



KATRIDERS RALLY 2014 - cintidude04
cintidude04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 10:32 AM   #14
MikeyZ
Tank Slapper
 
MikeyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston
Posts: 448
iTrader: (2)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steves View Post
GPS is not an accurate representation of speed, although it's not common for a stock speedo to be off 10-15%.

Much of the GPS accuracy will reside in how good your receiver is.

GPS works by sampling, or taking readings over time. Most algorithims tend to calculate speed by measureing distance traveled in a straight line. most roads aren't perfectly straight. The other thing to take into account is movment along a Z axis. I don't know any GPS's that account for elevation when doing the speed calculation.
I would assume one would test with a GPS by going straight down the highway and holding it at a steady number for a few seconds. It would get EXTREMELY close- close enough that nobody would ever notice.
MikeyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 11:06 AM   #15
steves
Argh
Supporting Member
 
steves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: 19403
Posts: 29,825
iTrader: (18)

Default

No it's not, and that's not the case.

I don't think I have data handy, but my Garmin allows me to download traveled route data and display it overlayed on a map. At higher speeds, your sample rate becomes smaller because it's more difficult to manage a lock on more than 2 birds.

So, what I've found is that in the overlaid map you'll see a "line" drawn between two points which represents the route, and the line does not follow the path of the road. GIS data for known entities such as highways is very good in almost all the commercially availibile mapping software.

Your interpretation of "good enough" may still be off by 5 or more percent, so it's not an accurate measure.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cintidude04 View Post
My zumo 660 does steve.
It accounts for elevation change in the route details, but I highly doubt the speed calculation shown realtime does. I'd like to see that claim.

Last edited by steves; 04-05-2012 at 11:06 AM.. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
steves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 11:10 AM   #16
MikeyZ
Tank Slapper
 
MikeyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston
Posts: 448
iTrader: (2)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steves View Post
No it's not, and that's not the case.

I don't think I have data handy, but my Garmin allows me to download traveled route data and display it overlayed on a map. At higher speeds, your sample rate becomes smaller because it's more difficult to manage a lock on more than 2 birds.

So, what I've found is that in the overlaid map you'll see a "line" drawn between two points which represents the route, and the line does not follow the path of the road. GIS data for known entities such as highways is very good in almost all the commercially availibile mapping software.

Your interpretation of "good enough" may still be off by 5 or more percent, so it's not an accurate measure.


It accounts for elevation change in the route details, but I highly doubt the speed calculation shown realtime does. I'd like to see that claim.
So you don't think if you went on x number of different highways and took your bikes speed versus the GPS speed, they would not be accurate?

Im talking on RT 95- Going 70 MPH (bike speed) for 20 or more seconds and looking at the GPS.

If GPS is not accurate, couldn't you say every way has its discrepancies?
MikeyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 11:13 AM   #17
steves
Argh
Supporting Member
 
steves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: 19403
Posts: 29,825
iTrader: (18)

Default

Radar is accurate because the hardware and sofware on the device is designed to account for the dopplar shift.

Every was DOES have it's own issues. I'm just arguing against using a generic GPS unit to "calibrate" your actual speed.
steves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 11:34 AM   #18
astevens54
Kat Daddy
Supporting Member
 
astevens54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,412
iTrader: (0)

Default

Good post guys, I was just thinking about this very topic. So SpeedDRD or Speedhealer is the way to go if you want to correct speedo errors.
__________________
2014 Ducati Monster 1200
http://www.flickr.com/photos/austin-stevens/



astevens54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 07:50 PM   #19
il_ragazzo
Kat Master
 
il_ragazzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Yuba city ,CA
Posts: 2,639
iTrader: (10)
eBay ID: 94nakedkat

Default

If you want to calculate your speed measure out a fraction of a mile. Hold a constant speed and use a stop watch to get how fast you traveled that fraction of a mile. Ergo your speed: distance over time.

Do this like 100 times, then take the average use that data to calibrate your speeding. It will be so accurate you wont care.
__________________
Please, Just go home, relax, and have a think or two... hell... have as many as you can handle! It'll do all of us some good.
Tony
94 Katana 600
il_ragazzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 09:59 PM   #20
christianguitarest
Katrider
 
christianguitarest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Dell Rapids
Posts: 121
iTrader: (0)

Default

fist, no there is not already a speed healer or another device equipped on the bike (darn, I like free stuff). Today I rode and tried real gps (not on my iphone) and found that Im only really 4mph off at 75. So I need to go 79ish to go 75. I think that my wife who I followed must have a led foot or misunderstood me when I said go 65 and maybe she went 75 in stead, the world will never no. But as far as I can tell Im off the factory 5%ish. Problem solved? On a side note I topped her out today, 147ish at redline angry engine mode, holy **** my pants batman!
christianguitarest is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Reply

  KatRiders.com > Service Department > Mechanics 101

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wonkey Spedo Drezdun Mechanics 101 32 09-27-2009 08:13 PM
2002 gixxer 750 spedo readout can anyone help....cyber? xbubbax Mechanics 101 4 05-19-2006 11:47 AM



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Katriders.com, Copyright ©2004 - 2014
Katriders.com | Promote Your Page Too