X

Bike will crank but wont run

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bike will crank but wont run

Yeah so I am totally new to the motorcycle world, bought a broken bike last weekend and although mechanically we have everything we should need for the bike to run, it wont!

We cleaned out the airbox, bypassed the clutch (just in case that was a hinder), and charged the battery. When we try to start it, the sparks in most start, we plan on changing out the sparkplug cables just in case. Everything connected to the tank for fuel delivery looks fine, but I guess my question is what do I look for when inspecting carburetors, and what else could be preventing the bike from feeding fuel for the sparkplugs to ignite?

Read CARBS 101. They could be all clogged and preventing fuel from entering.

Comment

You can check if fuel is getting into the cylinders by smelling the end of the exhaust pipe just after cranking the engine; should smell like gasoline! Might also be a compression problem if fuel/spark all checks out

Comment

The plug wires on these can be trimmed back 1/2" and screwed back into the plug boots. A lot of times, if you've got a weak spark, that's all it takes.

That said, the single most common reason a Kat won't start - especially after it's been sitting for a while - is clogged carbs. Hit the wiki and download the pdf version of carbs101 (or carbs 102 if you've got a 98+ kat). Clean the snot out of the carbs (Don't forget to remove the AF screws. They're under the EPA plugs if they haven't been removed before.), and replace any old, hardened o-rings. If you've got the money and don't mind changing something that may or may not need replacing then I'd recommend just ordering up 4 rebuild kits and 4 new float needles from carbkitcapitol.com. That'll mean you don't have to go back in there again but it'll run you $80. Good insurance IMHO.