X

No headlights, only my highbeams are working

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• No headlights, only my highbeams are working

I am new to riding, and I recently bought a 2000 suzuki katana 600. About a week ago my headlight quit Working but my highbeams still work.
    Has anyone had this problem, or does anyone know how to fix this?

Check your bulb first. Its the simplest way to figure out if its bad. Our bulbs have 2 filaments. The Low beam filament could be burned out, and the high beam will still work. change out the bulb and see if that helps. You can get the bulb from autozone for like 10.99 Let us know if the problem persists.
    Captain of Squad 11

Comment

This happened to me about three weeks ago.

I can almost guarantee that a pin in your plug behind the third eye is burned out. You will have to clip the wire on each end of the plug and butt splice it together.

However, there are a few things you should check first, just in case.

1) Fuse. Make sure the fuse isn't burned out. Use a voltmeter to check continuity through the fuse to ensure that it still functions.

2) Lamps. Make sure the lamps in your Kat aren't burned out. If so, you just need to replace the bulb.

If these aren't the problem... I'm pretty sure it's the plug.

This is a pic of the third eye hanging there to expose the plug in question:

Here's a pic of the burnt plug:

And finally a pic of the plug bypassed and the wires spliced:
      Last edited by Fullmetal; 10-15-2009, 11:51 PM. Reason: Picture Errors
      Nuff said.

Comment

Wow what do you suppose caused that?
        Joker
        The newest addition to the Family!
        sigpic
        stop by the garage for a better look!

Comment

Poor or dirty connections, contaminates in the connections, or other similiar issues that cause a connection to be a heat point.

Krey
          93 750 Kat