Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

Failed at changing brake pads. Need your help!

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Failed at changing brake pads. Need your help!

Today I tried to change my rear brake pads. I got up to the point where I took out the old pads (there were actually no pads on them whatsoever, they just now started to grind so that's why I jumped on this ASAP). I am new to motorcycles and don't know completely what I'm doing (as you'll be able to tell from this post). When I took the old break pads off, I couldn't fit the new pads in because of the pistons were to close to each other in the calipers. I tried with all my strength, and was careful not to damage the pistons, to open them enough to slide the new pads in.

Well, I'm going off what the manual says. It says that it may be necessary to open the master cylinder reservoir and diaphragm (What is that?) to remove some fluid. It says if they cylinders are difficult to push back, attach a clear hose to the bleed valve and open the valve up and try again.

So what I did is open the master cylinder reservoir and unscrewed the two bleed valves. Brake fluid spewed out and I cleaned it up with a rag. After trying to move the pistons after that, they still didn't budge. So I bled some more and tapped the break while doing this. This shot out fluid and made the pistons even closer together! I didn't know what I was doing (obviously).

Now this is where I'm at currently - I am low in brake fluid due to all the bleeding (I don't even think I bled it right??), the pistons are shut closed, and the brake pedal bottoms out.

I don't know what I did, but I thought you guys could help me out. Is this something that I could fix or should I take it to the shop stealership?

Thank you in advance!!

Wow, that must have been fun to watch!