X

Electrical Guru's needed!

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Electrical Guru's needed!

Hey guys, hoping for some feedback on a problem im having with my 2003 750.

Long story short, i had the battery on a tender all winter. Unhooked the tender and a couple of days later went to start the bike. Stone dead. Recharged the battery out of the bike and had it loaded tested. Passed. I found this unusual, so when i put the battery back in, i hooked a multi meter to it.

As soon as you turn the key to on, the battery begins to rapidly drop. It dropped from 12.5 to 7.5 within roughly 45 seconds.

I tried both my wave runner batteries directly connected to the bike.. same result

Tried my car battery.. same result

With testing so many batteries, i am comfortable ruling that out.
    Keep in mind the battery discharges even while the bike is running @ 2500k RPM.

Im a mechanical engineer by trade, but electrical seems to always beat me. Any feedback is appreciated

Measure the amp load, disconnect the pos batter lead, put a meter set on D.C. amp between the battery post and the cable. It may be the alternator drawing that power as anything else would most likely burn.
    "I'm sorry, I didn't mean to upset you when I called you stupid. I thought you already knew..."
    spammer police
    USAF veteran
    If your a veteran, join the KR veterans group

Comment

"put a meter set on D.C. amp between the battery post and the cable."

The cable from the alternator? What should i be expecting.

Comment

Battery cable. What is the draw? Once you get the draw, unplug the alternator. Now what is the draw? Just some help with some high amp draw finding techniques you can use.
        "I'm sorry, I didn't mean to upset you when I called you stupid. I thought you already knew..."
        spammer police
        USAF veteran
        If your a veteran, join the KR veterans group

Comment