X

Katana: Naked to Bobber project

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Katana: Naked to Bobber project

So I've been riding my katana for the past two years, thought about selling it and picking up a Harley or Victory. But I've decided against that and instead thought that it would be cool turn my bike into a bobber.

One thought I had was to extend the rake, put a peanut style tank on it and lower it a couple of inches.

The other thought I had was doing a frame swap.

The best, and easiest, that it looked like I could come up with lied within the GS frames. It seemed like either an 80 to 84ish GS 850?(check that) or GS 1100 frame would work as they had the inline 4s that look to be the same engines as the 90 GSX.

What I'm wondering is what would the difficultly be in putting my 750 motor into a GS frame? I'm finding them on EBay for a couple of hundred bucks or so. I guess the biggest issue would be whether or not the bolt patterns lined up for the motor mounts? The rest should be cake, lest I over estimate my skills and under estimate the complexity of the GSXF.

Anyway, thanks in advance for your help!
    Last edited by kswalp90kat750; 10-27-2012, 11:14 PM.

Originally posted by kswalp90kat750 View Post
    So I've been riding my katana for the past two years, thought about selling it and picking up a Harley or Victory. But I've decided against that and instead thought that it would be cool turn my bike into a bobber.

One thought I had was to extend the rake, put a peanut style tank on it and lower it a couple of inches.

The other thought I had was doing a frame swap.

The best, and easiest, that it looked like I could come up with lied within the GS frames. It seemed like either an 80 to 84ish GS 850?(check that) or GS 1100 frame would work as they had the inline 4s that look to be the same engines as the 90 GSX.